Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer of Crabs and Donkeys

Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer

In 2009 we went camping in the New Forest. To be precise, we went camping in Roundhill which is in the New Forest. We went there with my friend and his parents. As you can see, we went crab fishing and donkeys invaded our campsite!

We ended up having the biggest crab after my friend’s mum caught a king sized one! After that it was crab after crab after crab.

The donkeys were more amusing. It was the last day of the trip and two donkeys just trotted in the camp. Eventually we put away all the food and they left. It was the BEST CAMPING TRIP EVER!

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer of Crabs and Donkeys

  1. It reminds me of the time when, between homes, we were camping in Ashurst and mini ponies broke into our tent and ate all my biscuits. But they looked so sweet.

  2. You know, I think my husband and I drove through New Forest with friends from Dover. They took us to lunch at a wonderful country-style restaurant whose name includes “Pig,” I think. We’d just disembarked from the Queen Mary II in nearby Southampton. Am I right? Am I speaking of the same place? Horses are allowed to roam freely, living off the land in New Forest. It was amazing to see them wandering about, even lying down by the side of the road…taking a nap. We’d never seen anything like it.

    hugs…for reminding me…of a wonderful time…hugmamma. 🙂

    1. Indeed. Southampton is very close to the New Forest so the horses must have been from the New Forest. So I think it might have been the same place that you visited.

      1. Wow! It’s amazing that I found you among the millions of WordPress bloggers. And though we were strangers…but no longer…we experienced a place in common. Thank you for verifying. I’ll look back through my archives of posts so you can see the pictures I took of the horses.

        hugs…new friend… 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.