RSS Feed

How to survive a weekend without the Internet

So, these past few days have been packed. Aside from the obvious elephant in the room/President in the White House (don’t get me started…), I’ve had a college interview, a cold, a flood downstairs, a haircut, had a new sofa ordered (well my parents did that) and a GCSE Drama performance.

But despite all that, the most dramatic event that’s happened was, for about 36 hours, we had no internet. I don’t know what caused it (sonething to do with Virgin I think), but for a 21st century teenager, this was pretty intense and I had to improvise what to do during my weekend.

So, here’s my guide for surviving a weekend without internet.

  • Do stuff you need serious concentration to do

puzzle

Here, I present my Doctor Who jigsaw puzzle I started in mid-December and still haven’t finished. Without internet, you need to find stuff to do, otherwise you’ll literally go mad. So what better way to occupy your social media free time by working on something you wouldn’t do normally. Having a puzzle is good as it works your brain cells and you won’t be worrying about catching up on news from your phone. Actually, with current affairs at the moment, maybe it’s for the best that everyone has some Internet free time.

  • Walk

one-does-not-simply-walk-into-mordor

The world’s favourite mode of transport until the invention of the wheel. If you have no Internet, go out and embrace the natural world. I’m lucky enough to live a few minutes away from some large woods but no matter where you live, if you look far enough you’ll find somewhere removed from human civilisation. Whether it’s the woods, the beach, the mountains or the farms, enjoy your Twitter free few hours with something healthy and relaxing.

  • Talk

sit-down-and-talk-again

Yes, before emojis, emoticons and hashtags, humans actually utilised the body part used for eating and drinking for pleasant communication with each other. It doesn’t matter what you talk about, just discuss matters with other human beings. And because you won’t have the Internet, you’ll have to be nice, polite and civilised. Hopefully.

  • Read

reading

Not an eBook, an actual, physical book with actual pages and actual words. Reading is perfect escapism, as you can leave the real world of doom and gloom behind and instead focus on the fictional world of doom and gloom (well, it depends what you’re reading). How about something you’ve always wanted to read but have never had the opportunity? Case in point, I’m going through the Complete Sherlock Holmes-

sherlock-holmes

And those were four things I did over this Internet free weekend. It really isn’t the worst thing in the world, and I coped fine. Next time, I’ll be diving into the world of Skulduggery Pleasant again…

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

Leave a Reply

