RSS Feed

Movies I want to see get made

Posted on

I have a very obvious passion for movies and as someone who wants to get involved in the film industry, I have some ideas of my own to pitch to Hollywood. So here we go-

  • A sequel to the Nightmare Before Christmas
    tnbc

I know, sequels sometimes suck, and making a sequel to one of my favourite films would be hard to get right. But I believe it can work, just as long as it’s done in stop-motion and the songs are good. The reason I pick this movie to have a sequel is because the film established a brilliant universe, and we only see Halloween and Christmas Town, meaning there’s a lot more potential. In a sequel, Easter Town could be explored, as well as others like St Georges Town (a dragon as their ambassador perhaps?) a Chinese New Year’s Town (with 12 rotating ambassadors) and a Valentine’s Day Town (with Cupid as the ambassador). So here’s the plot. The Krampus, the Sandman, Nian and the Bunyip have risen from the dark corners of myth and folklore and launch an attack on the collective Holiday Towns. So Jack must team up with Santa and the other holiday ambassadors to fight them off.

  • A Ben 10 movie

ben 10

One of my childhood shows, Ben 10 appealed to me because I was 10 and I’m called Ben. The show is about a young boy who discovers an alien watch that turns him into different aliens, each one unique and interesting. The series evolved into a more mature show called Alien Force, with Ben and his friends as teenagers and a slightly darker tone with cooler, less childish aliens, which has my all time favourite alien from the show, Brainstorm, who still sits on my shelf. Also, he’s a psychic crab. This was my favourite version of the show. Ultimate Alien then followed with even more awesome aliens. I don’t watch the show now obviously but I think it was genuinely great and it has fantastic potential for a movie. There were two TV movies but I don’t remember much from them and a Hollywood movie would bring the show to life. I know I’ll be there opening weekend.

  • A Dungeons & Dragons film

dungeons and dragons

This is excrutiatingly easy to do. D&D is one of the reasons nerds exist, so a film based on it should happen, and apparently is happening. The genius of D&D is that there are no characters or storylines, so whoever writes the film can create an original plot while using the D&D world as a template. Fantasy is very popular thanks to Lord of the Rings saving the genre (not to mention the awesome Merlin TV show), but the D&D film needs to be different enough to distinguish itself. Incidentally, Lord of the Rings would be an awful D&D campaign. Too much walking and not enough dungeon crawling, and the Battle of Minas Tirith would take about a year’s worth of gaming sessions. A D&D movie would star a wide variety of species and different types of characters to reflect the 11 different classes, and the film could use D&D monsters such as the beholder and mind flayer and of course, dragons.

  • A Skulduggery Pleasant movie

skull dude

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again- this awesome book series deserves a Harry Potter style movie franchise. Just as long as it’s done with respect to the book series then us fans will be happy. Today’s technology will make Skulduggery easy to present on screen, and to have a film franchise with an unconventional hero, strong female characters and not having a dark, depressing and gritty tone would be refreshing indeed. While I’m perfectly content with the books, having a film would be the perfect way to introduce this great series to a wider audience. But, if it is made, the characters must stay Irish. I say this as a British person who loves the fact that they actually let everyone in Harry Potter have British accents, rather than American accents (which they considered) so it seems right that the Irish Skulduggery Pleasant series has Irish actors.

  • A Brexit movie
united we stand

I can’t find anything suitable so I’ll put up a Civil War poster seeing how that’s basically what was happening to the Tory Party.

This needs to happen. Seriously. A comedy-drama about the EU referendum which will probably win a lot of awards will be fascinating to watch. Everything about this whole situation is film material, from the civil war (Cameron vs Johnson), to the logistics in how David Cameron handled the referendum, to the fact that everyone involved heavily in Brexit (Johnson, Gove and Farage) have all quit/been kicked out of important positions, leaving the state of events in this country in a bit of a pickle. I would love to see how a movie presents the events that have transpired in the past few months here. Have some big name British actors (Peter Capaldi as an angry SNP member would be hilarious) to play the politicians and go nuts. I predict in a few years this movie will be nominated for Best Picture/Director and possibly Best Actor for whoever plays David Cameron or Boris Johnson.

So those were five movies I want to see get made. Honestly, I’d be fine if none of them were made, as we live in a world where geek franchises and movies are being more and more popular and mainstream. Let’s hope the trend of great geek films doesn’t come to an end.

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

One response »

  1. Helen Williams

    I would like to see a movie version of the Walking Dead…but I’m pretty sure it will happen at some stage. It’s just a matter of time. I would also like a proper (better) movie of Buffy the Vampire Slyer, with the cast from the television show. But as the cast is now too old, that will never happen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

