RSS Feed

My 5 favourite Pixar films

One of the main reasons for my passion for film developing was my childhood watching animated films, in particular Pixar. Large chunks of my childhood was dedicated to watching them and even today I still love them. So to commemorate the release of Finding Dory (it’s not out in the UK for another month but it’s out in the US), today I’ll discuss my five favourite Pixar films-

  • Finding Nemo

Finding_Nemo

This is probably the reason why I love ocean life and aquariums. I remember as a kid just loving the giant whale and the hammerhead shark (I love hammerheads). Like most Pixar films, it has strong characters and themes which appeal to a universal audience. In Finding Nemo’s case, it is about trust and family. The characters in this film are so memorable, with my favourites being the sharks, the pelican and Dory. It’s clear why she is getting her own movie. The funniest moments are when the seagulls say “mine, mine, mine” all the time. It’s so funny, and it’s hard to take seagulls seriously afterwards.

  • WALL-E

walle

This was the first movie I remember seeing in a cinema, so I have always had a personal connection to it. Once again the characters are fantastic, with the robot on the ship who is constantly cleaning being a comedic highlight. The themes in this film are some of the strongest Pixar has dealt with, as themes about the environment and consumerism are addressed. The animation is some of Pixar’s best, with the robots and futuristic spaceship looking amazing. I also really like the villain in this movie, Auto, as he is only doing what he believes is right. That’s the best kind of villain.

  • Toy Story- all of them

toy story

Yeah, I’m cheating here. I have very fond memories of this trilogy, and I consider it to be one of three perfect trilogies (along with Star Wars and Lord of the Rings). I saw the third one in cinemas and love the other two just as much, with the second one being my favourite. There is so much to love about these movies, from the amazing characters (my personal favourite is Rex, because dinosaurs), the mature themes and the humour. As someone who recently gave a lot of toys away, it’s going to be hard to re-watch Toy Story 3. I don’t think I need to say more- these movies are a classic.

  • Inside Out

inside out

I missed this film when it was released but I saw it on the plane back from holiday and I’m glad I did. It once again goes to show how accessible Pixar is, as this movie is for everyone. It’s a truly brilliant concept with plenty of high concept ideas (I adore the train of thought). Once again the emotions and themes are really strong and prevelant, with plenty of funny moments. My favourite character is Anger, where most of the comic relief comes from. However, the main characters of Joy and Sadness are fascinating and have a great, complex relationship.

  • Up

up

I’ve mentioned this before as one of my favourite movies a while back, and when I update my list this movie is staying on. This was the second Pixar film I saw in cinemas and I have loved it ever since. The characters and emotions here are the most mature and compelling out of any Pixar film, while the ideas and imagery are hilarious. It’s amazing how a film with a flying house and talking dogs can be so human and dark, while never forgetting to be entertaining and appealing to everyone. Up is without question my favourite Pixar film.

 

So those were my five favourite Pixar films. I’ve seen every film except the Cars movies and The Good Dinosaur and I’ve enjoyed them all. I hope Pixar continue to make brilliant films for a long time.

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

2 responses »

  1. Graham Williams

    For once, I find it very difficult to disagree with your choices – although ‘Inside Out’ was a bit patchy. ‘Up’ and all three ‘Toy Story’ episodes are great films and not just great animation.
    Another excellent piece of writing – keep it up.

    Reply
  2. Ruby BarefootRuby

    I only Up two or three years ago – I’d not even heard of it before. Since then I’ve told several adults to watch it as it is so good. I also enjoyed Inside Out – some very clever characterisations and imagery.
    I’ve not seen any of the others on your list. I did see a bit of Cars, but it didn’t really work for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

