RSS Feed

The 2015 blockbuster awards

Posted on

It’s 2016! There’s so much to look forward to this year movie wise. Civil War, Doctor Strange and Batman Vs Superman are all movies I cannot wait to see. But before that I think it’s time to look back at last year and the blockbuster movies which I saw. 2015 saw a huge variety of blockbusters. There was Marvel, of course, but there was also James Bond, Star Wars and Jurassic Park all returning to the big screen. I enjoyed every movie I saw this year, so I think it’s time for the awards. First up- the movies in the awards are:

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Jurassic World
  • Ant-Man
  • Spectre
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

I will be discussing the movies in detail, so spoilers will commence. Make sure you watch the films before reading this.

And now the awards themselves. First up, which characters truly stuck with me this year?

Best Character Award 

  • The Vision- Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Kylo Ren- Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • The T-Rex- Jurassic World

OK, I’m kind of cheating on that last one, as the T-Rex isn’t really a character and only appears for the final fight (more on that later) but my love for dinosaurs allow her on the list. As for the other nominees, Kylo Ren is a very complex villain who made the film come alive. He isn’t an intimidating force like Vader or Dooku, but a person who still has a lot to learn and has problems determining whose side he’s fighting for. With a unique design and potential for future movies. he is my favourite Star Wars villain. However, my award for best character goes to…

Vision_in_Avengers_Age_of_Ultron_poster

Now I haven’t read any Vision comics, and in terms of character I still prefer Captain America and Thor, but because neither of them had as much impact in Age of Ultron, The Vision takes the cake as the coolest character of the year. It was a toss up between him and Hawkeye as my favourite Age of Ultron character, but while Hawkeye was hilarious and provided the film’s biggest laughs, The Vision was a better character overall. He represents the difference between the Avengers and Ultron, being made as Ultron’s ultimate body but without any humanity in it. When he turns to the Avenger’s side, he becomes more human than Ultron and is eventually the one to destroy him completely. Oh yeah, and this shot…

age of awesome

That is the single coolest shot in the whole movie. It gives the comic nerd in me a massive squeal. I hope Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman get their own version in Batman Vs Superman. The Vision was the coolest character of the year, and I am intrigued to see his role in Civil War.

Best action scene

  • T-Rex, Blue and the Mosasaurus versus Indomidus Rex- Jurassic World
  • Ant-Man versus Yellowjacket- Ant-Man
  • The opening- Spectre (if I limit the list to only close combat fights, then Rey versus Kylo Ren and Bond versus Hinx counts)

Every film I saw this year had great action, and while Age of Ultron’s and Force Awaken’s huge scale fights are hugely entertaining, my favourite action scenes are the more unique scenes. Spectre’s opening is typical Bond, complete with explosions, chases and nail biting stunts. If there’s a franchise which can open a film in style, it’s the Bond franchise. The first shot is one take, which is stunning to behold. Ant-Man contains one of my favourite Marvel Cinematic Universe fights, with the miniature train fight and the hilarious results of Ant-Man’s growth gun being incredibly imaginative. It’s basically a parody of all the huge city wide destruction scenes in other superhero movies, with the massive explosions and carnage being reduced to a toy train set.

However, my favourite fight of the year is the fight which ignited my childhood love of dinosaurs. The fight scene at the end of Jurassic World is the most fun I had watching a film fight scene all year. It starts with the raptors, before the T-Rex enters the fight. It’s incredibly fun as well as tense, as the T-Rex (the same one from the original! Squee!) is old and weak and the raptors are not strong enough to fight the Indomidus. But the final squee moment comes when the Mosasaurus leaps from the pool and drags Indomidus down. Just awesome! I know it’s just CGI, but when it’s dinosaurs tearing into each other, I can let it slide.

Best use of Britain

Well, obviously it’s Spectre. With a climax set in London, there was no denying that Bond wins this one. However, Force Awakens and Age of Ultron were both filmed here, hence why we got them early. Doctor Strange will get a nomination next year for the same reasons. OK, this award was a bit silly.

Best blockbuster overall

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Jurassic World
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

So now it comes down to the films I liked the most. Like I said, I really like every film I saw this year. Age of Ultron, Jurassic World and Force Awakens however were the ones I was most satisfied with. Spectre had a few issues (namely a very weak villain) and wasn’t as good as Skyfall and Ant-Man, while fun, wasn’t the strongest Marvel movie (I will do a list in the lead up to Civil War). It comes down to the superheroes, dinosaurs and the Jedi. Age of Ultron is a brilliant blockbuster filled with clever character moments, humour, fan pleasing moments (although “Ultron, we will have words with thee” was sadly missed) and a script which is a lot deeper than it seems. It’s easily the most fun I’ve had watching a film this year. I can still replay it in my head even after 9 months.

Jurassic World is another movie I love. Obviously it isn’t as good as the original, but as a movie I still think it holds up. It continues and expands on the themes of the first movie while using the modern world as a way to put more ideas into the script and offer fresh takes on the whole premise of the franchise. It’s a clever movie filled with great action and cool dinosaurs.

However, the crown for my favourite movie of the year goes to…

star wars

Yeah, it may be predictable, but I truly think The Force Awakens is the best film I saw this year. It continued the story with great new characters, bringing back the old characters and setting up the plot for future movies. Even if it is quite similar to the original movie, I think it was fine as the film needed to draw back fans who were underwhelmed by the prequels (I’m not one of them; I’m one of those strange people who likes Attack of the Clones). There’s enough originality in the characters and universe building here to not make it formulaic and I am intrigued as to where the franchise is going in Episode VIII. It was insanely fun to watch and the prospect of more on the way makes me giddy. This was definitely my favourite film of 2015.

And that concludes the 2015 blockbuster awards! Next year, it’ll be Marvel and DC fighting it out for the prize.

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

One response »

  1. Graham Williams

    Excellently structured review and very well written. I haven’t seen ‘The Force Awakens’, but all the reviews that I have read seem to agree with you – this was one of the films of the year, and the best on your list. I only have one problem with your nomination – Ant-man and best film do not belong in the same sentence, unless that sentence is “Ant-man was rubbish and is not even close to being the best film that I saw this year”.

    PS Your epicuda profile needs updating as it still says that you are 14 years old.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

