RSS Feed

An ode to geekdom

I’m going to admit it-  this is the Golden Age of Geekdom.

Superhero movies are dominating cinemas and Star Wars is returning. Doctor Who is hitting unprecedented awesomeness (there hasn’t been a single episode this series which I haven’t loved) and whenever Marvel aren’t making smash hits, there’s another movie to appeal to the geeks of society- like Spectre or Jurassic World.

Basically, a geek is a person who is obsessed with something. There are maths geeks, sports geeks and then there are the geeky geeks. These are the geeks who are obsessed with film, TV and pop culture. The geeks who can rattle off every Hogwarts teacher or Jedi Knight and squees when Kate Stewart says “Five rounds rapid” or the Twelfth Doctor admits “Reverse the polarity of the neutron flow” makes no sense. Today’s post will be an ode to the geeks like me who are like that.

Now I’m a geek of many things. I’m a Whovian, a comic nerd (both Marvel and DC), Star Wars fanatic, Bond enthusiast, Harry Potter lover and Middle Earth fan. Because I’m a fan of so much, I don’t find myself involved in fanboy arguments. Here are my responses to some common ones-

Is the New Series of Doctor Who better or is the Classic Series better? I love both the same. Jon Pertwee, Tom Baker, Matt Smith, Peter Capaldi are all the same mad man travelling through time and space.

Are the Star Wars prequels too complicated and talky? Yes, but I still enjoy them and can admit the originals are vastly superior (though admittedly I haven’t watched Phantom Menace). I love both General Grevious and Darth Vader and look forward to The Force Awakens as someone who hasn’t been negatively impacted by the franchise.

Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings? Lord of the Rings is an epic, sprawling adventure with amazing action and story while serving as the world’s best New Zealand tourism advert. Harry Potter’s a more quiet and complex story about a boy wizard while serving as the world’s best British landmark guide. There’s no major comparisons to be made except for the fact they both have wizards and giant spiders in my eyes.

Marvel or DC? Both have fascinating, complex characters and compelling stories to me. DC’s characters are more magical and unique while Marvel’s are more human and relatable. The comics are equal in my eyes, though if we’re talking movies it’s obvious who wins.

Star Wars or Star Trek? Star Wars. Yeah, not offence to Trekkies but I don’t understand this franchise at all. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t raised on it but I can’t see the appeal for it. It’s the only major geek franchise I don’t enjoy. BUT, I’m not hating on it or anybody who likes it because I’m not someone who believes anything I dislike is horrible and the people who like it are dumb. People who act like that make me ashamed to be a geek.

So I’m a geek. Why? I don’t know why really. But being a geek is great to me. It means I can appreciate the amazing fictional universes and I understand what a Dalek, Muggle, lightsaber or Batmobile is. I know what people mean when Mordor, Tatooine or Gotham is mentioned, and I can confuse people by quoting Gandalf, Yoda or the Doctor. Because these things aren’t commonly known and known only to geeks, knowing someone who knows what I’m talking about can instantly identify with me.

So, whether I’m gushing about the awesomeness of Doctor Who Series 9, immersing myself in a comic or counting down the days till The Force Awakens, I am a geek. So much so that today I went to the Doctor Who Festival in London and saw Peter Capaldi in a special talk with the cast. I will probably write about that next.

Geekiness is a thing which can’t be explained. It’s just a special part of me which I am proud of.

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

4 responses »

  1. Hope you enjoyed the Dr Who event. I look forward to hearing about it.

    What is the difference between a geek and a nerd?

    Reply
  2. Are there boundaries to “Geekdom”? When do you let real life intrude?
    What class of Dr Who story is acceptable and what elements in a story would spoil it?

    Reply
    • The great thing about geekdom for me is that it doesn’t interfere with real life.

      As for Doctor Who I will enjoy it as long as there is a story and some character development. It also helps to have a villain and some sci fi elements in it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

