RSS Feed

Comic book time!

Due to the huge amount of comic book movies being released, I thought I will write about comic books themselves. It’s obvious the films are hugely popular, but it’s important to remember their origins. I have a drawer full of Batman, X Men and Thor comics.

The_Marvel_Universe

Image from Culture Culte via Flickr

So here is my comic book guide for dummies. First, the two big companies:

Marvel: Otherwise known as the ones who make the movies. Marvel are more light hearted, with a bigger emphasis on massive events involving loads of characters. Famous for Spiderman, X-Men, Fantastic Four, Captain America, Thor (my favourite), Hulk, Iron Man and Daredevil. The characters are normally ordinary people imbued with powers and they are more science fiction based (Doctor Strange aside).

DC: Otherwise known as the ones who should be making lots of movies but aren’t, DC tell darker stories with more serious characters with a wider range of personalities. The story arcs are more personal to certain heroes. Famous for Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, Flash, Green Arrow, Aquaman and Constantine. The heroes usually have personality problems and there is an emphasis on fantasy and magic, with technology also playing a part.

There are other comic companies but these are the two which everyone recognises and the ones where the most famous heroes come from. I’ve already discussed why they are so popular, so I’m going to talk about which company I prefer and why I like reading them.

I’m more of a Marvel person, but it’s funny because I find the DC characters more interesting. I much rather prefer Green Lantern, Aquaman and Martian Manhunter to Iron Man, Captain America and Hulk (though they are all cool). Similarly I prefer Batman to Spider-Man. However, the reason I prefer Marvel overall is not just because of the movies but because they feel more like a combined universe. I can read a Spider-Man comic and imagine that the X-Men exist, but while reading a Batman comic it is hard for me to imagine that Superman is somewhere (probably because Batman is so different to the other DC characters). So overall I think both are great, but I prefer Marvel, even though the DC universe is more interesting.

Conclusion

The main reason I like comics is because of the fact that it isn’t just words, but artwork and pictures as well. The stories are also really cool and the comic book universes are just so awesome! In one universe you have a guy dressed as a bat fighting clowns, people made of clay, mad scientists and an alien battling bald business men and a giant monster. The other universe has a guy dressed up as a spider fighting a man made of sand, alien symbiote and a scientist with four metal tentacles and a billionaire with an iron suit who fights warlords and a dragon. The extent a comic book can go with its characters is just brilliant. What other form of storytelling can have Asgardians, gamma mutated scientists, sorcerers and a WWII super powered soldier in the same story? And because it is a visual medium, it means that these characters can be instantly recognised.

And that’s why I like comic books. I read normal books as well but there is something about comics which appeal to me. It’s also good that there are movies which are being made from them, so there is always something for me to enjoy at the cinema.

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

Leave a Reply

