RSS Feed

Chandler’s Ford needs better shops!

So, before I get to the point of this post, I just need to say what’s happening with the Doctor Who review and the Doctor Who posts. Well, because this ISN’T a Doctor Who site, not all of my posts will be Doctor Who. Most of them will, but some won’t, like this one.

So, here’s what I’ll try to write (if I don’t have too much school work):

Mondays – Doctor Who Episode review.

Wednesday – Something not related to Doctor Who, anything from cheese to movies.

Friday – Doctor Who related post linked with the upcoming episode.

But this week, the Doctor Who review will be tomorrow and the “something else” is today. So, let’s talk about…

SHOPPING!!!!!!!!!!!!

We now have a WH Smith in Chandler's Ford, Eastleigh of Hampshire.

We now have a WH Smith in Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh of Hampshire.

On Friday, a new WH Smith opened in Chandler’s Ford (in Eastleigh), where I live. This added yet more stationery and more newspapers to a stationery and newspaper filled arcade. I think, in order to be more varied, Chandler’s Ford needs to be more interesting in their choice of shops. Just look at Eastleigh. There is a huge variety of shops there compared with Chandler’s Ford.

In Eastleigh there is a stationery shop called The Works, which also sells some books. There used to be a Waterstone’s bookshop in Eastleigh but it was closed down last month.

It's a shame that this Waterstone's in Eastleigh has just closed down.

It’s a shame that this Waterstone’s in Eastleigh has just closed down.

In Eastleigh, there are DVD shops, toy shops, charity shops, and a lot more. I know Eastleigh is bigger and it is a town, but I don’t want to take the train to get there (or to Southampton or Winchester) every time I want to buy something. Let’s look at the benefits of having a bigger variety of shops in Chandler’s Ford…

We go to Eatsleigh a lot to buy things.

We go to Eastleigh a lot to buy things.

  • More people will come to Chandler’s Ford, not just for the “mainstream” shops but for the history behind it. Maybe a museum of Chandler’s Ford will inspire people to come and explore the place.
  • As there are many schools in Chandler’s Ford, such as two secondary schools, many children could come after school and buy books and games, so we need to have some book and entertainment shops.
  • It would be good business for smaller companies to set up shops in a smaller and well-established place such as Chandler’s Ford, as opposed to somewhere larger like Winchester. Setting up shops in Chandler’s Ford will mean less competition from bigger companies, and the rent might be cheaper.

My ideal bookshop

So what would my ideal bookshop be? A good bookshop has every kind of book, from comics to travel guides to information books to novels to picture books. That is what the bookshop in Chandler’s Ford should have.

Alternatively, the new WH Smith could provide a book section or I hope there is another bookshop.

So that’s it for my shop ideas. I’m not normally concerned about shopping but recently I have seen a variety of shops in other places during my holiday and I wish my own place Chandler’s Ford (not a town) could provide a varied and fun range of shops.

Eastleigh museum and shops.

Eastleigh museum and shops.

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

4 responses »

  1. I would like to see a book shop in Chandler’s Ford too, but as the closure of the Arcade Bookshop and Waterstones demonstrate, bookshops are increasingly unviable as everyone buys books on line these days. I have to go to Southampton to spend my birthday book tokens now!

    Reply
    • I can’t see a W H Smith without thinking of my headmaster’s disparaging description: “that some people think is a book shop”. Or Private Eye’s name of “W H Smug”

      Reply
  2. I understand your frustration, but the rise of the Internet has completely changed the pattern of shopping in recent years. In general, on-line sites offer more choice and lower prices than the traditional high street shops. Time is also at a premium and you can now browse on-line 24 hours a day without leaving the house.Local councils have not helped, as they have regularly raised prices for parking and small business rates to increase revenue to spend on ‘social’ projects and this has also resulted in local shops finding it harder to cover their costs, let alone making a reasonable profit.
    I particularly regret the passing of second-hand book stores. I collect 1960’s and 1970’s detective/thriller fiction. There used to be 5 bookshops in my area where I could happily spend a couple of hours browsing, but now there are none and I have to rely on overseas trips, particularly the USA, to indulge my hobby.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Reasons Hampshire is a must see British destination |

Leave a Reply

