RSS Feed

Shakespeare and EastEnders

Posted on

A very late happy birthday to William Shakespeare, who is 450!

We're going to need a bit more candles...

We’re going to need a bit more candles…

Today I will be talking about my favourite Shakespeare play, Macbeth.

macbeth

I think this is my favourite Shakespeare play because it was the first one I learned about. I learned about it in Year 6 and I bought the play in Singapore that same year. Knowing the story helped me read it faster and understand the text.

The story is about a Scottish noble called Macbeth who is told by three witches that he would be King of Scotland. He proceeds to murder the King and he eventually becomes King, kills a few more people and goes mad. So yeah, typical Shakespeare story.

Today in English we were getting ready to start our Shakespeare topic and the teacher showed us half of EastEnders. She said that we were going to watch EastEnders to compare EastEnders and Shakespeare.

EastEnders is literally one of the funniest things I have ever seen. Today I watched it for the first time. I haven’t laughed this much since I heard one of the singers in mum’s Les Misérables CD squeak at the end of a song. Everything in EastEnders is hilarious. It’s either spoken in a bland tone or shouted at in exaggerated facial movements. The apex of the humour comes at a part when a character is literally DRAGGED BY A CAR ALONG THE ROAD WHILE HE’S TRYING TO OPEN IT! No, I’m serious.

But onto the link between Shakespeare and EastEnders. There’s quite a lot of similarities between them actually. Both have lots of talking, lots of conflict, lots of plot lines and TONS of characters. This is how Shakespeare has influenced writing, as his stories and ideas have become standard writing styles now. What do you feel about that, Mr Shakespeare.

shakespeare

Um, um, um, um, um, um, um…

Macbeth is one of Shakespeare’s most famous plays. I got to see it in London last year in the Globe with my parents. That’s nice and all, but what’s not nice is the amount of people Shakespeare kills off. Decapitation, poison, suicide, stabbing, drowning… everything (especially suicide). How about we finish things off with a Shakespeare body count quiz?!

 

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Shakespeare And EastEnders - Chandler's Ford Today

  2. Graham Williams

    You are the first person I know to use the words ‘hilarious’ and ‘East Enders’ in the same sentence.

    I think the link you make between Shakespeare and East Enders is a bit tenuous and could apply to most Television Series – even Dr Who (although the characters in Shakespeare are much better defined and usually more skillfully portrayed).

    Another nice piece of thought-provoking writing. Well done.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: History: The TV Show |

  4. Rebbeca Cascinelli

    I find it interesting that The Lion King, too, closely resembles the striking original work of the literary genius, Shakespeare, despite the happy resolution designed to make such a powerful tragedy more appealing and palatable for the inevitably younger audiences, while still carrying a much-needed message of morals. Shakespeare’s extraordinary work is and was profoundly inspirational, so much so that the effects of his brilliant thoughts expressed through the masterful marvels of his work still are well-known through to this day and age, an age of not only of advanced technology, but one of political and social revolutions. I suppose my point is that one revolutionary of a time long ago, before the modern technologies and conveniences that we take for granted today, is still remembered as an ingenious, inspiring, and thought-provoking individual, an artist of language, and a translator for the language of art.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: An eventful day to Shakespeare’s Globe |

  6. Pingback: An Eventful Day To Shakespeare's Globe - Chandler's Ford Today

Leave a Reply

