RSS Feed

People I want to meet

Isn’t meeting someone you’ve always wanted to meet just so cool? Not just celebrities, but people from the past or fictional characters like Batman? Imagine how cool it would be to meet Batman!

But today, I’m going to be talking about people who I’ve always wanted to meet. And luckily, I’ve met a few! OK, only two. Technically three. I’ve met Steve Backshall, who is the presenter of the CBBC show Deadly 60 (which I used to be obsessed with. Think my Doctor Who obsession, but even bigger).

I met Steve Backshall from Deadly 60

I met him in a big Deadly 60 convention in a Southampton park when I was in Year 4, where hundreds of fans were watching him have a talk and hold a snapping turtle. Since I was at the back, I only saw glimpses of him, but it still counts.

Steve Backshall with Aligator Snapping Turtle: Image by David Farquhar via Flickr.

Steve Backshall holding an alligator snapping turtle: Image by David Farquhar via Flickr.

I met Percy Jackson’s creator Rick Riordan

The second person was Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson novels, which are some of my favourite books. I met him in Winchester, in his only talk in Britain in 2010 and I got my favourite book from the series, the Titan’s Curse, signed. I actually talked to him as he signed the book.

I met writer Rick Riordan in Winchester in 2010.
I met writer Rick Riordan in Winchester in 2010.

I met founding father of Singapore, Lee Kwan Yew

However my third meeting wasn’t planned at all… In 2009, I was in Singapore with my mum eating in an outdoor restaurant when she poked me and told me look at an old man jogging with two other men. It turned out he was Lee Kuan Yew, the former Prime Minister of Singapore. He had bodyguards with him in case he got attacked. He is sometimes referred to as the founding father of Singapore. Even though bumping into Mr Lee was not planned, I still count it as a meeting.

Lee Kwan Yew, Father of Singapore.

Lee Kwan Yew, Wikipedia image

So what about people I want to meet? Well, I’d like to meet any living Doctor (including John Hurt, though that would be tough, because he is busy making lots of films). I have a framed photo with all the Doctors’ signatures from my grandparents as my 13th birthday present, but to actually meet them, especially Matt Smith, would be amazing.

I have signatures of all original 11 Doctors for my 13th birthday from my grandparents!

I have signatures of all original 11 Doctors for my 13th birthday from my grandparents!

I would also like to see, maybe not talk to, a member of the Royal Family. How many people can say that they’ve had a proper conversation with the Queen? OK, quite a lot of people, but it would still be awesome! As for historical figures, my picks would be Richard III (to finally clarify the prince mystery), Charles Darwin (to have a nice argument about nature with) and William Shakespeare (to find out if he actually wrote his plays). As for fictional characters, the Doctor, Batman, Yoda and Jack Skellington would all be awesome to meet.

The earliest surviving portrait of Richard III - image via Wikipedia.

The earliest surviving portrait of Richard III – image via Wikipedia.

So what about you? What people have you met and want to meet? If you could meet someone from the past or from a fictional world, who would it be?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

4 responses »

  1. Excellent choices and I like your reasons.

    I’d love to meet any monarch, past or present.

    Reply
  2. Apart from Jesus (obviously) I would like to meet Desmond Tutu. As for fictional characters, I would like to meet Fl’ar and Lessa from Anne MacCaffrey’s Dragon books set on the imaginary planet of Pern.

    Reply
  3. Graham Williams

    In my youth (a long, long time ago), I was well in with the music scene and used to run into guitar heroes like Eric Clapton (Yardbirds) and Pete Green (Fleetwood Mac) regularly. I also knew Ginger Baker (drummer with Cream) and Steve Marriot (Small Faces) well and used to regularly drink with Jack Wilde who played the artful Dodger in the film version of Oliver! In later life, I have met three Prime Ministers: John Major (who went to school with my step-brother), Ted Heath and Tony Blair (boo! hiss!) and two managers of the England Football team (Bobby Robson and Ron Greenwood). I have also played golf with Sandy Lyall, Butch Harmon (Tiger Woods’ coach) and Denis Thatcher and briefly chatted to Gary Lineker and Jodie Kidd in the bar of Sunningdale Golf Club.

    There are many, many people I would love to meet but top of the list would be Ian Hislop, Steven Spielberg, Whoopi Goldberg, Alistair Maclean, Tim Burton, Glenn Close and Helena Christensen.

    From the past, I would go for William Shakespeare or Michael Faraday (I would have put Isaac Newton, but apparently he was really, really unpleasant).

    As far as fictional characters go, I would love to sit in on a discussion about detective work between Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Shakespeare and Eastenders |

Leave a Reply

