RSS Feed

The British Avengers

Posted on

avengers

Everyone loves team up movies. The Avengers (which I have actually watched in full now!) pretty much solidified that team up movies are SO cool. Watching characters from different franchises in one movie is so fun. So, what famous characters from Britain could fight to save the world? I’ve got a list of characters from here to form the British Avengers (unoriginal I know, but I can’t be bothered to think up this stuff. I’ve got more important things to do than to think up names)

Well, let’s start with the obvious ones…

wooo

Ok Ok Ok! I’ll go Capaldi, I’ll go! Just calm down! I just need to retrieve my bow tie! The other one!

  •  The Doctor

Was there any doubt? Of any British television icon, the Doctor pretty much rules all. He’s one of the most iconic British icons armed with jammy dodgers, jelly babies, bow ties and speeches. Lots of speeches…wonder how many Capaldi will do. How long till autumn? IWANNASEECAPALDICMONCMONNOTNINEMONTHS!!!! Sorry, let’s continue…

sherlock

Yes I’m looking at you. I may be able to deduce, but if you ask me to fight aliens Doc, I’m outta here!

  • Sherlock Holmes

Sherlock Holmes is to books what the Doctor is to television. While I will admit I’ve never read a Sherlock book, I’ve watched the BBC television series and it is one of the best shows around in my opinion. Let’s face it, EVERYONE has heard of Sherlock Holmes and his trademark deerstalker hat (which was only in the Sherlock Holmes plays). If one British icon deserves to be in the British Avengers, it’s Sherlock! (What an awesome name!)

bond james bond

My bow tie is cooler!

  • Bond, James Bond

Duum Dum Dum Dum… That theme is so cool. James Bond is the perfect description of a British hero. He parachuted out of an airplane with the Queen into the Olympic stadium. I dare you to find one Bond movie which doesn’t show London. One of the movies is called On Her Majesties Secret Service! Bond is one patriotic dude…

harry potter

Any studio wants to copy my success? Hmm? Or is Hollywood going to make original ideas instead of adapting every book in existence?

  •  Harry Potter

You could say Warner Brothers is American, but the books are British, so Harry Potter is allowed to enter the British Avengers. The proof? In the fifth film they go into a red phone box, the seventh film is literally destroying London and he goes to Hogwarts on Platform 9 3/4 in King’s Cross station. That’s so cool…

mr bean

  • Mr Bean

There is a rumor that if you go to the furthest parts of the world and ask someone what famous British fictional icons they’ve seen, they’ll say Mr Bean. He is one of the most universally recognised characters in the world, partly due to the fact that he doesn’t speak so anyone can understand the short episodes which he stars in. Remember in my comedy post about the three rules? Mr Bean just needs to do the third one, situation. Throw in some slapstick and WHAM! Comedy gold!

So a Time Lord, detective, wizard, spy and a guy with a teddy bear is an impressive cast of heroes to defend the world against? But who else? King Arthur? Robin Hood? Or are there any, more obscure British characters I don’t know of?

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

4 responses »

  1. Graham Williams

    Mr Bean????? – you have to be joking! Apart from that, I thoroughly approve of your list. I would go for Merlin rather than King Arthur (who did not actually do a lot) and Gandulf from Lord of the Rings as additional casters of spells – you can’t have too many wizards in my opinion, Bodie and Doyle from The Professionals (expert at beating people up, driving cars too fast and drinking too much) and the Tomorrow People (originally British, now revived as American). I think I might also recruit some of Shakespeare’s creations – Prospero, Oberon and Titania would be very useful to have on your side in a fight.

    Reply
    • I didn’t put Gandalf as I thought he wasn’t famous enough to be there. I almost wanted to have someone from Arthurian mythology, but I wanted to go for more modern characters from Britain.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: What a 13-year-old would like to watch |

  3. What about Robin Hood?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

