RSS Feed

My favourite movie themes

Music means everything in a movie. If you want Indiana Jones punching a Nazi in the face, you want music to go with it. Or just James Bond strolling along a street with the right music can sound cool.

So here are my favourite movie themes (in no particular order)-

  • Batman

I’m kind of cheating as I haven’t even seen the movie (as it’s rated 15, even over 20 years later), BUT, it does play in the Lego Batman video game so I think I can include it.  What I like about this piece is the build up. It builds up quietly, then goes BAM I’M BATMAN suddenly. Listening to this theme makes me slightly more interested in Batman & Superman in 2015 (only slightly). Of all the superheroes, Batman is one of the coolest.

  • Pirates of the Caribbean

Am I the only person who likes the last Pirates movie? No one? OK, just me. But anyway, even if you didn’t like the last movie, how can you not love this theme? It cuts straight to the action, with drums, saxophones and whatever other instruments which are used. Every time I play this in my head, I just imagine Captain Jack jumping into an enemy ship and saying one of his one liners and then sword fighting with skeletons. Can’t wait for Pirates 5!

  • Pacific Rim


I know it’s recent, but WOW! Just WOW! Like the movie, there is nothing to say about this theme except awesome. Like Pirates, it cuts straight to the booming drums and guitars. Combining this with watching the giant robots punching giant monsters in the face will guarantee making everyone squeal with excitement. Who cares about deep moral issues, character building or intense drama? LETS JUST HEAR THAT GUITAR AGAIN!

  • Indiana Jones


Again, am I the only one who likes the fourth film? Well, it was the first one I saw but… LOST ARK WINS! One of the most awesome movies needs this awesome music. The solo sax opening is simply wonderful, and fills you with fun and wanting to go to exotic rainforests and fight Nazis and boulders and aliens… whoops, just mentioned the fourth film again. My favourite part starts at 1:20, where it gets more light and upbeat, putting a huge grin on your face.

  • James Bond

One of the oldest movie franchises, spanning over 50 years, deserves music like this. Starting off nice and upbeat, but then going crazy with a complete brass band. Just play the music and imagine Bond fighting crazy hat throwing people and stopping ranting villains with elaborate schemes which don’t make any sense but WHO CARES? One problem though, where was it in Skyfall? All other Bond movies I’ve seen seems to have it somewhere. But it’ll probably appear in Bond 24.

  • Star Wars

Disney are being very smart, releasing Episode VII in December 2015 away from competition. I was actually going to go for the Imperial March and that’s cool too, but this is just amazing. Starting off loud and bombastic, then going quite operatic and calm before going nuts again. This music combined with the famous title scroll at the beginning of the film is how you do good exposition (*cough*Parting of the Blergh).

  • Harry Potter

A movie franchise spanning eight movies over ten years, it’s obvious Harry Potter has set the foundation for great book adaptations. Like Star Wars, this theme starts off quite slow, but gradually turns into the famous music we all love. Just imagine that scene in the first film, with Harry and Hedwig walking into the snowy grounds of Hogwarts and Hedwig taking off into the skies. Without this music, that scene wouldn’t have nearly been as sweet.

  • Jurassic Park

The newest addition to this list, Jurassic Park is easily my favourite movie ever. When I first heard of this movie, I was thinking of dinosaurs attacking and eating people. And that’s true. But what I didn’t expect was to see one of the most beautiful scenes I have ever seen-

That scene right there was when this became my favourite movie. But on with the music. Also some of the most beautiful I’ve ever heard. The way it starts mysterious, then emotional, then awe-inspiring, then finally excitement about going to an island full of dinosaurs… until some idiot turns off all the power and lets them out. Stupid.

So there are my favourite movie themes. Are there any you think I missed out?

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

5 responses »

  1. I think you have missed out Mama Mia!

    Reply
  2. I agree with most of your choices, particularly James Bond, Raiders of the Lost Ark and Jurassic Park. I would also strongly recommend Ghost Busters, Flash Gordon and (the best of the lot) The Good, The Bad and The Ugly.
    [ps – I still owe you a comment on your excellent piece on comedy]

    Reply
  3. I don’t think Mama Mia was missed at all!

    how about Schindlers List?

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Why are the Daleks so popular? |

Leave a Reply

