RSS Feed

The 12th Doctor

The 12th Doctor

It’s been a while since I’ve done a post on Doctor Who.

OK, maybe it HASN’T been a while.

But anyway, I still need to talk about the biggest piece of Who news- The 12th Doctor, Peter Capaldi.

frown

The Eleventh Doctor was funny, optimistic and charming. With the Twelfth Doctor, I think he should be strict, impatient but at the same time caring and lovable that all Doctors have.

It’s been a while since the show has had an older Doctor and Capaldi is the oldest actor to play the Doctor since the first Doctor, William Hartnell.

So what about episodes? Well on my Series 8 wishlist I said I wanted hour long episodes on other planets. Not only will this benefit the new Doctor, but it will bring back the exploration aspect of the classic series.

Here are some episode ideas-

  • A Titanic episode, somewhat along the lines of Father’s Day or the Fires of Pompeii.
  • An episode on a living spaceship.
  • A scary episode in a proper haunted house with NO STUPID TREE THINGS!
  • A medieval episode with dragons.
  • The Doctor arriving in the middle of an alien war.
  • Arriving in a future where the Internet has become a virtual world for people to go to.

In fact, if the BBC are reading this, start getting the best Doctor Who writers to get these episodes written and made. Or maybe just get me to write them. How about getting film scriptwriters to do episodes?

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

6 responses »

  1. Some great suggestions.

    I don’t know if they could do a Titanic one, though; in the first episode of the reboot, the man looking for the Doctor had a photograph of him on the Titanic – and it was Christopher Ecclestone.

    Reply
    • Oh, good catch!!!

      Ben, I agree with you on the character description. I thought that David Tennant embodied the Doctor at the stage of life he was in at that time, dealing with the war(s) to end all wars, love, loss, and struggling to find his way in the world. Matt Smith did a great job as an age-old soul determined to throw off his depression and anxiety and have some fun – when you live forever, nothing matters in the big picture – yet all of it matters. He did that aspect of the role very well.

      As for Capaldi, I’ve seen some of his other roles and I’m not sure how he will interpret The Doctor. I like your description best.

      As for episode ideas, I’d like them to go back to New New Earth again and see how all those mixed races from living underground so long survived and what trouble is had there.

      Dragons – oh, me, too.

      I’d love to see some epic episode to go back in time to the earliest days of the Daleks on Skaro in an attempt to “fix them,” but that is too much of a change in the future. Something that resolved the Daleks in a good way, and then a new evil come back in. The Silence were great evil characters, but I’d love to know more about them, or see some other evil creature, much like Stargate did when they got rid of the Gao’uld and faced the Ori. I would love to see an Ori-style villain, something that tests the very soul of The Doctor again.

      Yet, I want The Doctor to fall in love again. Oh, those were precious episodes.

      So many ideas…you have me thinking. Thanks!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: My Doctor Who Series 8 anticipation |

  3. Pingback: My Doctor Who Series 8 Anticipation - Chandler's Ford Today

Leave a Reply

