RSS Feed

I misunderstood A Christmas Carol

A few posts back, I did an Eleventh Doctor Bottom 10 stories, in which A Christmas Carol was third. When I watched it again this morning on telly, I realised how WRONG I was.

So here is my new, positive rant.

My biggest problem with was how boring it was, as with the Girl Who Waited. Now I’ve seen both again, I found that the pacing of each are solid. My problem with the Girl Who Waited was everything else. Not here.

shark

The story is interesting with genuine feeling towards the characters. The scene where Kazran is watching the Doctor change his past genuinely emotes with the audience. This is the episode’s biggest strength, creating characters which the audience can care for.

The second thing is the fact that the dialogue is great. I’m really bad at quotes but I can remember that there are dozens of lines which are really strong and powerful. The script is also very well structured, with the revelation of Abigail’s illness and the Ghost of Christmas Future being well executed.

There is also a scene which I completely forgot about where the Fog Shark chases the Doctor and young Kazran (Kazran… run from the shark. Ran, Run… Hahahahhahahahhahhahahha!). This scene, like everything else, has genuine weight towards the audience, and the shark is just awesome.

This episode is phenomenal and is one of Doctor Who’s best. Everything from the character, dialogue, effects, directing and structure is spot on. This gets a 10/10, and only 10 episodes have done that, and they are my Doctor Who Greats. I just need to know where to put this…

10. Sound of Drums/Last of the Time Lords

9. Image of the Fendhal

8. The Impossible Astronaught/Day of the Moon

7. Curse of Fenric

6. Human Nature/The Family of Blood & Vincent and the Doctor (I’m allowed joint places, it’s MY list!)

5. The Name of the Doctor

4. Kinda

3. The Deadly Assasin

2. Planet of the Spiders

1. The God Complex (which is an 11/10)

Hmmmm…

Hey Master, do you mind if you get demoted one place?

master

Yes I do!

Still, sorry about this…

10. A Christmas Carol

9. Image of the Fendhal

8. The Impossible Astronaught/Day of the Moon

7. Curse of Fenric

6. Human Nature/The Family of Blood & Vincent and the Doctor

5. The Name of the Doctor

4. Kinda

3. The Deadly Assasin

2. Planet of the Spiders

1. The God Complex

There, sorted.

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

6 responses »

  1. It is a smart person who is willing to admit they made a mistake 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The 12th Doctor |

  3. You put The God Complex at number one? Excellent choice. I totally agree, though I might fight you on the worst of the worst in order of 1-5, but when we are talking about bad, let’s just admit they are on the bottom of the list.

    I happened to have enjoyed Human Nature/Family of Blood – but only the love plot line. The “Family” was terrible. Horrible characters all around and deserve to put the episode in your worst of list.

    I agree with you that “Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon” and “The Name of the Doctor” are great story ideas lost on film. I had to watch them both repeatedly to “get” them and even then, sigh. I agree totally. Glad I’m not alone!

    Reply
    • I know my opinions on the Girl Who Waited, Cold War and Hide are in the minority, just like most of my opinions. My bottom 10 post is only for Eleventh doctor stories, though I think I’ll do a Ninth/Tenth doctor one soon. The reason I don’t have a problem with the villains in the Family of Blood is that they weren’t the main focus and they don’t need personalities. The main focus was the love story and I don’t have a problem with that.

      Interesting opinions.

      Reply
  4. Oh, PS, your link to the previous post in the first paragraph is broken. Might want to fix it. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

