RSS Feed

How my view on Doctor Who’s Lazarus Experiment has changed

On WordPress’s Daily Post, there was a suggestion that we could talk about how our opinions have changed about something.

OK, as  the biggest Doctor Who fan in the whole wide world (undisputed), I have three words: The Lazarus Experiment.

Towering_over

I’ve watched this episode about 5 times in the past 4 years. First, the sixth episode of season three of Doctor Who (just when you thought I’d stopped talking about Doctor Who), The Lazarus Experiment, has a simple plot:

rarg

MONSTER RAMPAGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The basic story is that the Doctor and Martha arrive at a science conference to watch Professor Lazarus’s experiment. BUT, in the world of Doctor Who, it’s not so simple and Lazarus turns from a slightly crazy scientist into a completely mad giant monster who starts eating everyone by turning them into dodgy model husks. How nice!

For some strange reason I didn’t watch Series 3 when it was first aired, but I watched them on DVD and I. LOVED. THIS. STORY. But since I was only 8 years old, the reason I loved this story was mainly because there was a giant CGI (Computer Generated Image) monster running around. It was awesome. In fact, have you noticed that Series 3 had very interesting monsters? Scarecrows, Weeping Angels, Toklafane, and the Toraji sun were all brilliant monsters.

But anyway, Lazarus slowly became my favourite monster ever and I watched the episode again and again.

And, then, The God Complex arrived.

My mind was blown. I forgot about the Lazarus Experiment. The God Complex was the best thing I had ever seen (my reasoning will be explained in an upcoming post *cough* spoilers!), and The Lazarus Experiment was stuck in the back of my mind.

About two months ago, during my half term, I re-watched some Series 3 & 4 episodes, including The Lazarus Experiment.

BUT, somehow, I didn’t like it.

This time, I felt that the story had no plot, a tacked on ending, a story with nowhere to go after 30 minutes and another typical Russell T Davies-era family drama episode. Russell T Davies was the producer who revived Doctor Who after it was cancelled in 1989.

To be honest, IF I WANTED TO WATCH A FAMILY DRAMA, I WOULD WATCH EASTENDERS! IF I WANTED TO WATCH CG MONSTERS RUNNING ABOUT, I WOULD WATCH DOCTOR WHO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Phew.

But then, I thought about it some more and my final score for the episode is – average.

Sure, it still has no plot, but its production is great and it’s engaging and fun to sit through. I focused too much on the script when I last watched the episode.

So, that’s one way my opinion has changed. Do you have any?

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Musicals | life is great

Leave a Reply

