RSS Feed

The Eleventh Doctor’s Top 10 stories

Posted on

As many Whovians already know, Matt Smith will leave Doctor Who in the 2013 Christmas special.

*SNIFF* *COUGH* WAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HE’S MY FAVOURITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But anyway, to look over his era, I’ll do a countdown of my personal favourite Eleventh Doctor stories-

10. The Eleventh Hour

thing

HI!!!!! You’re stuck with me, not Tennant!

Yeah, it may seem boring to have his first story on the list, but I love this. It’s like The Christmas Invasion meets Smith & Jones, but on a huge scale. It’s the story which really “got” me into Doctor Who. The scale of the whole episode is epic, with great performances, a simple plot, great production values and judging the huge changes behind the scenes, this episode achieves everything.

9. The Vampires in/of Venice

vampire

OK, the BIG problem with the stories after The Eleventh Hour was that they seemed to be paced very poorly. The Vampires in/of Venice was the first episode to pace itself like the Tennant stories. As a result, the plot and characters get expanded and the premise is interesting (I mean, VAMPIRES! Yay!) There’s not much to say, it’s just sheer awesome.

8. The Snowmen

the snowmen

It’s finally Christmas! A Christmas special that isn’t too dark, long, or so boring it puts me to sleep (A Christmas Carol). The Snowmen is sheer, sheer awesome. A great re-introduction to Clara (Meh, probably nothing), a chilling (Ba-dum) villian and an incredibly funny script. Not the absolute best, but a Christmas special that ISN’T terrible.

7. The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon

the impossible astronaught

WOW! Just WOW! This was the first episode to chill me since Forest of the Dead with the Silence. As with the Eleventh Hour, the scale of the thing is epic, the location brilliant and has great ideas and is a brilliant start to a great series (except for the… well, I’ll get to that later…). Also, one of the Eleventh Doctor’s best speeches. I can’t do it justice and I would play it but I can’t find it on Youtube…

6. Dinosaurs on a Spaceship

dinosaurs

Does what it says on the tin. Dinosaurs on a spaceship. I LOVE this. LOVE it. It’s hilarious, action packed and strangely moving. Also, I love dinosaurs and when you have Harry Potter’s caretaker being the bad guy, you know you have an awesome story. Not much else to say, it’s just awesome.

5. The Doctor’s Wife

house

OH MY CHEESE!!!!! THIS IS AWESOME!!!!!!!! WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!… sorry, got a bit over the top. But this episode is absolutely amazing. Everything clicks. EVERYTHING.

4. The Rings of Akhaten

the rings of Akhaten

Here is the Rings of Akhaten experience-

First half- Pretty good

Second half- Errrrrrrrrr…

Third half- WOW! I CAN FIND THE CLIP ON YOUTUBE!

That….was…FANTASTIC! If I was soppy, I’d cry. But I’m not. I’m just blown away…

3. The Name of the Doctor

whispermen

For people who watch the classic series like me probably squealed when they saw the past Doctors in this episode. BUT, unlike the previous two finales, this episode FELT epic. Everything was epic, the villains, the plot, the acting, the production… this episode is 1,000000000000000000000000000000 times better than… well, you’ll find out later. And a good way to wrap up a kind of disappointing season (except for Dinosaurs on a Spaceship. And The Snowmen. And The Rings of Akhaten. And, to some extent, The Crimson Horror and Nightmare in Silver).

2.  Vincent & The Doctor

chicken thingy

Unfortunately, another episode in which the epic speech can’t be found on Youtube. But this episode must be great because… my mum liked it. Yes, you heard that right. The person who couldn’t understand the Fires of Pompeii, The Shakespeare Code and Unicorn and the Wasp. But it also made me feel sad for the giant chicken-dinosaur monster thing. Also, it has an epic speech which CAN’T BE FOUND ON YOUTUBE!

1. The God Complex

minotaur

I can’t say anything. This is just perfect. Perfect. It is my favourite episode of Doctor Who-ever. It’s Doctor Who meets The Shining which I have but I haven’t read because it’s too long and wordy. But as for the God Complex, I can’t put into words how much I love this episode. This is the episode which has all other pieces of media crawling in the dust and leaves my brain completely blown EVERY time I watch it. And I’ve seen this round about 5 times.

Right, that’s my top 10. Tommorow, I’ll talk about the bottom 10… urgh…

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

12 responses »

  1. Thank you for mentioning me in your post, Ben!

    I must say the speech in The Rings of Akhaten was very moving. I think the Doctor was very emotional. His voice was very powerful. I quite like it actually.

    I’ll try to watch a few more episodes. I’d tried watching some episodes before, but sometimes the stories were too complicated and ridiculous that they sent me to sleep……

    If David Tennant comes back, I’ll be watching again.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The Eleventh Doctor’s Bottom 10 stories |

  3. Pingback: My favourite things |

  4. Pingback: My Doctor Who Series 8 anticipation |

  5. Pingback: My Doctor Who Series 8 Anticipation - Chandler's Ford Today

  6. Pingback: Celebrating 3 years of blogging: Doctor Who Mighty 25 |

Leave a Reply

