RSS Feed

Someone needs to be fired…

This country’s Education Minister is making me want to move to Australia.

This guy has proposed a new history curriculum 50 times larger than the current curriculum- AND HE STILL ISN’T GOING TO MAKE HISTORY A CORE SUBJECT!

In order for teachers to teach the new curriculum, they need 9 years. But Micheal Gove isn’t going to expand history into a core subject- which will allow teachers to teach students for 9 years so the curriculum can be taught properly.

Either A) Have history a core subject (like English, Maths and Science), so teachers can teach the new curriculum or B) Have history taught as it is now.

But wait! It gets worse! Apparently he’s saying all non-European topics should be removed, so that’s Micheal Gove being a bias cheesy-brain.

What about Japan’s invasion of Asia? You gonna leave that out? How about India’s independence or America’s independence? Anything? Oh sorry, you can’t hear me because you’re being bias towards European history! Or, hmmm, the EGYPTIANS!

But wait! IT GETS WORSE! According to some historians, he wants to teach the spread of Christianity through Britain.

But we have a subject which deals with that. Yeah, its called-

rs

RELIGIOUS STUDIES!

Also, according to BBC History Magazine, in the new curriculum, there will be no obligation to examine the legacy of the British Empire in the world today. If this is true, then this is my response…

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE  JOKING!

How can anyone teach European history without learning about the British Empire!?

HOW!!!???

In fact, lots of everyday things in Britain are because of the Empire, like tea and sugar.

I am not a happy person. If all this is true, then Micheal Gove is scrapping a perfectly good curriculum into a huge subject which leaves out important facts and replaces them with stuff that should be taught in other subjects.

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

7 responses »

  1. Perhaps we misunderstand Mr Gove’s true credentials when it comes to talking about history. Clearly Gove is living in a past when Britain ruled the world and the globe was painted pink. Once we realise this his reforms come to make sense.

    When I studied history at school we learnt nothing prior to 1066, learnt lots about those wonderful nobles and knights in the castles built by serfs and how Henry VIII saved English souls from foreign powers. As for the Empire, it consisted of Wolfe’s wresting Canada from those perfidious Frenchies and Clive of India’s righteous retribution for ‘The Black Hole of Calcutta.’

    Just the sort of ripping yarn stuff for Our Man in Cloud Cuckoo Land. Oh and we invented Cricket, Soccer and Rugby too. Hurrah.

    I wonder why I’m so keen to make my historical novels as accurate as possible. I must be confused in the head.

    Reply
  2. Why don’t you write to him? He’s an elected representative and you are entitled to do that. And send a copy to your local MP and your local paper.

    But not angrily, like in this post. Lay out your reasons logically and calmly.

    Reply
  3. Graham Williams

    Hmm. When I first read this, I was already to disagree with you (again!), but on a second and more careful look I have to agree with most of what you say. I do not think that History can be treated as a core subject. I believe that a working knowledge of Maths and English is absolutely fundamental if you are going to have any sort of adult life. The same cannot be said of History, although I find that a knowledge of the past has often helped my analysis of and decision making in the present.
    I think that in order to teach a subject successfully the content must be both relevant and interesting to the group that is being taught. If the group is British, then a history of the British Empire fits both these criteria. Having said that, a knowledge of European history is also very important if we are to properly understand how our current relationship with the rest of Europe evolved. The two topics are not necessarily mutually exclusive!
    I do have problem with some of your post though. I was taught history between the ages of 8 and 16 (9 years). As I remember, most of this was general, but it was in sequence starting with the Roman Empire, skipping to the Norman Conquest and then going in strict chronological order up to the general election of 1919. If the particular era interested me enough, I was able to add detail by reading the right books in my spare time. Perhaps all Gove is saying is that proper teaching of the subject should start at an earlier age than present and cover an appropriate range of topics. Is this not a reasonable approach for an Education Minister to take?

    As for Gove wanting to include the spread of Christianity through Britain, are you sure?

    Have you been reading the Guardian again.

    Reply
  4. Rebbeca Cascinelli

    That is absolutely unacceptable! The core classes of Kentucky include social studies, which is the equivalent of history. It is taught from the third grade up and includes world history, but as of Sixth grade 2014, it includes no religion classes. Everyone around me is Protestant, and they are not even fully aware of how the Protestant religions were founded and how they gave birth to the United States of America via the British pilgrims of the Mayflower and similar vessels. My classmates know that they give thanks to the Indians on Thanksgiving because the pilgrims were their friends. I, probably celebrating or preparing to celebrate Hanukkah around that time, can safely say I know a little more about religion than my average classmate.

    The terribly incomplete curriculum is not the only issue. The state has terrible gifted and science programs. I am not satisfied with my education either, to say the least.

    My classmates know very little about religions outside of Protestant and Catholicism. Among my very few nicknames is Anne Frank. At least they know who she is.

    World-wide, education is ridiculously incomplete. It is hard to think of how we are complaining about our spotty education, while children in Africa and the Middle East are fortunate to get a break from working or shooting or, if female, arguing that they to have the rights, just to go to a very poor, one-room schoolhouse. It’s so uneven, and though things are bade here, I wonder if I have the right to complain about the education I have been fortunate enough to have been presented with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

