RSS Feed

Paradoxes- ???

I remember watching a Doctor Who story where a companion rescued her dad who died from a car accident. But, her dad dying was a fixed point in time, meaning that the death of the dad can’t be prevented.

So, how’s this to do with paradoxes? Well, after the companion changes history, the universe starts crumbling as the father’s death was fixed. Him being killed was proper history, but his rescue changed history, causing a paradox- something which was not meant to happen.

But, on a different note which IS linked with what I just said, my dad said at dinner that he and mum were near a place in West End London where a bomb by a Nazi was detonated. A Nazi! There were still Nazis in the 21st century and I made a joke to do with paradoxes about the situation:

Nazi: I’ll blow up this pub!

Mr Smarty Pants: Why?

Nazi: Because I’m a Nazi! Hitler will rise!

Mr Smarty Pants: Hitler’s dead! Nazism is dead!

Nazi: No he’s not! I’ll get his brain and stuff it in a cyber suit. Cyberhitler!

Mr Smarty Pants: No one knows where he’s buried!

Nazi: OK then! I’ll go back in time, kill Hitler and get his brain into the suit.

Mr Smarty Pants: BUT, if you kill Hitler, then Nazism will never rise, meaning you will never bomb this pub, meaning you couldn’t kill Hitler in the first place!

Nazi: Point!

Mr Smarty Pants: So, if you didn’t kill Hitler in the first place, you wouldn’t go back in time to kill him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nazi: You are so irritating!

Mr Smarty Pants: I AM Mr Smarty Pants!

Nazi: I’m outta here!

So, do you get the point of paradoxes? If you don’t get it, just leave a comment!

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

6 responses »

  1. Ben,

    I seriously don’t get this. I’m a bit confused by the time travelling.

    Reply
    • Sit tight Janet, I’m coming back in time to explain time travel in depth to you moments before you make this post:
      Problem solved!

      Reply
  2. …and the moral of this story is: don’t watch Doctor Who – it will mess with your mind!

    Reply
  3. After reading this several times, not only does my brain hurt, but I am not sure that the example you have given is actually a paradox. I always understood a paradox to be a seemingly contradictory statement that may nonetheless be true: e.g. standing is more tiring than walking. Your example (and indeed time travel as a whole) seems to be more of a dichotomy – a division into two mutually exclusive or contradictory groups or entities. So now it’s your turn to get a headache by trying to work this out!

    Reply
  4. If you want good time paradoxes, watch any Star Trek series (The Next Generation is my favourite). I love time travel stories.

    The companion was Rose 🙂 (I also love Dr Who)

    Reply
    • Yes I agree! however to get the most out of it, you’ll need to go back in time to watch Star Trek TOS on a Black and White TV Set
      (that’s how I remember it the 1st time I saw it!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

