RSS Feed

Ben’s Top 5 Strangest Mythical Monsters

Posted on

Hello! Welcome to Ben’s Top 5 of everything (not EVERYTHING everything. Just a lot of things.)

Between Monarch 101 and Ben’s News, sometimes people just need LISTS! So, here is Ben’s list of the strangest mythical monsters! How many do you know?

5. Catoplepas: This is very strange. It’s an African wildabeast monster which has hair over its eyes. If people gaze into their eyes, the person dies. 

4. Hopping vampire: Yes, hopping vampire. These Chinese vampires HOP around the place. The way to get rid of one is to put sticky rice in front of your door so they get stuck on the rice!

3.  The Grey Sisters: The Gorgon’s less known sisters, the Grey Sisters resemble normal old ladies with no eyes and teeth. Why? Because they share an eye and tooth between them!

2. Kongamato: Not so much a myth but a rumored real-live monster! This giant pterasaur-crocodile-dinosaur thing-a-ma-jiggy is rumoured to be living in the Congo, and reports come from ancient times!

1. Nuckleavee: In a nutshell: a man with a giant bobbing head, a gaping mouth and a fiery eye in the middle of a horse with fins on its hooves. Oh, did I forget to mention that IT HAS NO SKIN!!

Isn't it awesome, freaky?(Image of Nuckelavee by Istaelus from deviantart.com)

Isn’t this awesome, freaky and completely OTT at the same time?
(Image of Nuckelavee by Istaelus from deviantart.com)

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

4 responses »

  1. I didn’t know any of these – and hope I never do 🙂

    Reply
  2. Of the five monsters, I think the Chinese Hopping Vampire is possibly the least scary. It makes me laugh that a vampire can be easily defeated by some sticky rice. I don’t think it’s Basmati rice, Thai Fragrance rice or Sushi rice, and I think it’s more likely to be glutinous rice, which is called nuòmǐ (糯米). A lot of Chinese dishes and dessert use glutinous rice and it’s very delicious!

    I don’t like Nuckleavee, as I don’t fancy creatures not wearing (wearing skin) properly.

    Reply
  3. Graham Williams

    I had never heard of any of them, but your description of the Grey sisters rang a faint bell so I checked my book of mythology and all came flooding back. I remember these as the Graiae – guardians of the Gorgons and daughters of Phorcys and Ceto. According to legend, Perseus got past them by pinching the eye as it was passed between them and then killed the Gorgons.

    Reply
  4. I read this post fully concerning the resemblance of latest and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.|

    Reply

Leave a Reply

