RSS Feed

I found William II in Winchester

Hello! Yesterday I went to Winchester Cathedral to hear my mum sing Christmas carols at a school choir.

While we were waiting, I remembered that Jane Austen and, more importantly, WILLIAM II, were buried in Winchester Cathedral. I was actually sitting next to Jane Austen’s tomb.

After the service, we tried to find William II’s tomb, which was in separate little boxes near the back. So, I went to look for them.

After a while, we asked a verger (someone who looked after the priest) where William II was buried. She said that he was currently being examined for DNA stuff and such, but in about 18 months’ time the place where he is being examined will be open to the public! YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS GREAT NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This inspired me to go on a quest: find out where all the kings and queens are buried and take a photo of their tomb. I have done some research and found out where all the monarchs are buried. It will be a LONG time and our summer holiday might have to be rescheduled but I WILL find everybody.

In about two weeks time I will be in Reading finding Henry I’s tomb!

On the way out I took a picture of Jane Austen’s tomb and found a rather interesting sign.

Jane Austen's Tomb in Winchester

IMG_5783 Norman stones have been reused

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

17 responses »

  1. Sounds like a really good project. I look forward to hearing about your progress

    Reply
  2. I love your enthusiasm for history. Do you think it might feature in your future career?

    Reply
  3. It’s fascinating. I’ve been to Winchester at least 100 times but I have never spotted that sign about the roman stones near the big clock. Thank you.

    Reply
  4. Dear Ben,

    I wonder if you have discussed your plan about possibly ‘rescheduling’ your summer holiday with your parents yet?

    Reply
  5. isn’t it interesting that Jane Austen’s tomb says nothing about her being an author!

    Reply
  6. Did they ever confirm wether the skeleton found in Leicester last year was Henry III?

    Reply
  7. Richard III, I mean!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Monarch 101: William II «

  9. Pingback: Some trivial facts in Winchester | Janet's Notebook

  10. Pingback: Reasons Hampshire is a must see British destination |

Leave a Reply

