RSS Feed

The society for the awesomeness of Richard III

The other day in the BBC History Magazine I came across an article about Richard III by the Richard III Society. What the article said really got me liking Richard III a lot more. It proves that Horrible Histories (who like to say everything is horrible) was completely wrong about Richard III!!!!!! (Also I’d like to point out that I’m complaining about the HH books, not the awesome TV series!)

BBC History Magazine

I found out tons of facts about Richard III that hopefully will make you change your mind about Richard III (Not even Wikipedia has all this juicy info).

  • Richard III was the first king to swear his coronation oath and to note down acts of parliament in English.
  • He believed in fair play so even if Richard’s best friend committed a crime, he would let the court do its job and lock his friend up if necessary.
  • He reduced the risk of people bribing jurors and he took actions to stop ‘forced loans’ to the King.
  • He made the book industry and printing industry better so people got jobs and read more books.
  • He made sure that people weren’t locked up until proven guilty.
  • He allowed poor people with no money to have legal help.

Has this given you any new info? Has this persuaded you that Richard III was a perfectly ‘normal’ ruler of his time? (Executing people, banishing enemies and raising taxes were what a “normal” king of that time did. ) Have you got any info on Richard III that I can gather up to prove that Horrible Histories is WRONG? If you do, please leave a comment and let me know.

Actually, Shakespeare also wrote negative things about Richard III in his play Richard III. However, I forgive Shakespeare because I think that Shakespeare wrote for entertainment, not for historical accuracy, and he probably didn’t get a good education that you would get nowadays.

With enough supporters of my STARIII (Society for the Awesomeness of Richard III) campaign, we can finally prove that Richard III, despite having done bad things such as assassinating Henry VI, still contributed to the law and parliament and fair play that are still important today.

Related articles
About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

5 responses »

  1. So, er, William Hastings, Anthony Woodville, Thomas Vaughn and Richard Grey all got “fair play” when they were executed without trial, then? Yeah, Richard was all for “fair play”, except when it came to people that he didn’t like. As for the rest of your points, they were natural “evolutionary” points that were not necessarily down to just one man. If anyone is to thank for the expansion of the printed word, I think you’ll find it was William Caxton. Still, I can see you’re another who’s falling the great white-washing of Richard III. Welcome to the mad-house.

    Reply
  2. I don’t want to dampen your enthusiasm, but your first point – that Richard was the first king to have his Acts of Parliament recorded in English – isn’t quite correct. Both Edward IV and Henry VI’s parliamentary rolls are predominantly in English. I wish you luck in your search for Richard. It’s a fascinating and intriguing journey.

    Reply
  3. I love your enthusiasm, Ben, and I hope you won’t let us nitpicking adults dampen your love of history.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for sharing the link for my blog on your page. I enjoyed reading your facts about Richard.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: People I want to meet |

Leave a Reply

