RSS Feed

A low down of my holiday

Christmas is almost over… whoops, used the wrong blog starter in “Good blog starters” by A.Man. What I was TRYING to say was the summer holidays are almost over. We’re leaving Singapore at 9:00 am tomorrow – or England time 2 in the morning (I need to switch to English mode).

During my holiday I’ve noticed several major differences from how I normally live in England and how Singapore people live-

  • 80% of people in Singapore live in flats. Hardly anyone in England do.
  • There are a lot of taxis. We took about five taxis to get to places in Singapore. All you have to do is wave your hand (preferably not doing a dance) and tell the taxi driver where you want to go (eg: the toilet).
  • We travelled mostly on MRT trains. They are a kind of overground train. They are clean, efficient and fast. Unfortunately, there’re a lot of people on the train, so I have to stand a lot of the time. In England, I normally walk or get driven around by my private chauffeurs (just kidding — these are my mum and dad!)
  • When you cross the road, in Singapore, there is a timer that shows you how long you have to cross the road: either 15, 20 or 40 seconds to cross the road. I like counting the seconds it takes me to cross the road. I haven’t seen this kind of timer in England.
  • The lifts are actually nice. They’re colourful and have wooden doors with glass windows so you can see what’s outside. One lift in another area had a sign saying a ‘Urine Detector’ was in place. Perhaps some people do pee in the lift. In England, I don’t get to the lift very often.
  • There is a good Malay barber near my maternal grandmother’s flat (where we stayed at). He cut my hair with smart layering and trimming. Not to be offensive to barbers anywhere, but the barbers near where I live in England are not good (According to Mum, who says everything is either good, bad, expensive or stupid).
  • There’re adverts on the news as well as EVERY TV program. I feel there shouldn’t be any advert break in the news. In England, the news hasn’t got an advert break. The programs that I watch on the BBC have no advert break.

There’s a lot more but these are the major differences. I am looking forward to going back to my new school and learning more history and telling everyone my experiences.

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

One response »

  1. Fascinating insights Ben. They say that Singapore is a fine city. You get fined for spitting, fined for chewing gum, fined for littering….. But look at what it’s like in central Southampton. Maybe we should be more hard assed here too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

