RSS Feed

Reader appreciation award

Posted on

Snailquake from Scotland has nominated my blog for an award. Thanks! My mum bought me an extra Skylander toy because she was impressed! (Read my About page; I’m obsessed with Skylanders!)

Snailquake‘s blog is just the kind of thing I like. It’s about animals and you will also know that I like animals. (Again, the magic About page of mine). Her blog has the kind of zaniness that I like, such as using words not normally used in the topic being written about, like Mexican chili in a post about ants! Here is the article!

My pet Georgy!

The pets I have are a blue tongued skink called Georgy (I’ve wrote about 3 posts involving her), and … fascinating fact number 1, I have three chickens in the garden. They’re called Talon, Fluffball and Redwing. Originally there were Talon, Shadow and Fireball. Unfortunately Shadow got killed (Don’t know what killed her; Oo, the mystery..). So that left two. Then, in the middle of our holiday, we got news (via dad) that Fireball had been BRUTALLY SLAUGHTERED… BOO HOO HOO! In truth, our neighbour’s dog got in our garden and “played” with her by putting her in his mouth. She died of shock so dad got two new chickens, which look identical to each other.

Our new chickens: Fluffball (right) and Redwing

All was well before the killings! The only surviving one is the orange one (Talon)

Here are the other fascinating facts about me (Not in order of importance):

  • I reallllllllllllllllllllllllly like cheese. In fact, before I wrote this sentence, I had pancakes with cheese! My favourite cheese is Parmigiano-Reggiano, the cheese that you use to coat your spaghetti bolognese.
  •  I also like history. My favourite king is Richard the II (1366-1399). I like him because he was crowned at only 10 years old. I wrote a series of comics about him when he was 10 years old and what he did, including banning peas. (It’s not a historical fact).
  • I like Shakespeare. I’ve just bought 9 books in Singapore, including Hamlet, Macbeth and The Tempest. I’ve finished Macbeth and I am reading King Lear. The record for the longest Shakespeare soliloquy that I know of is the speech that Canterbury says in Henry V, act 1 scene 2. It’s 62 lines long! Imagine having to recall that! I DARE you to find a longer speech in Shakespeare!

I bought these Shakespeare books in Singapore!

  • I like watching animal programs. I have found a new love on the National Geograhic channel called Wild Case Files. It investigates strange animal cases that science hasn’t come across. It has other things like the moving rocks of Death Valley

And now I really can’t think of anything else…

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

3 responses »

  1. What a great post! I really enjoyed all your fascinating facts. I’m especially delighted that you got a Skylander out of my award. Perhaps I should nominate you for another award every week…

    It’s always nice to come across a fellow animal lover. It was your entry about the snakes that sucked me in, actually. Georgy is beautiful – what kind of lizard is he? And I’m sorry to learn about poor Shadow and Fireball. Lovely pics, though.

    Nobody in their right mind could dislike cheese… or Shakespeare. I once learned Hamlet’s “to be or not to be” soliloquy by heart for fun, but it was considerably shorter than Canterbury’s speech!

    Do you think you might upload any of your comics to the Internet sometime?

    Reply
    • OK, one at a time:

      1. Nominating me won’t work because I’ve got almost all of the Skylanders and most of them aren’t fully levelved up. Besides, I’ve got a scheme to get them all- work at my mum’s church in selling Fairtrade and I get £2 each week!

      2. Georgy is a blue tongued skink and is not a confirmed male or female (We don’t know what gender she is!It’s hard with lizards.)

      3. Have you read my post about Shakespeare? There’s a play included called “The cheese from outer space”- but I made that one up!

      4. Almost certianly, beginning with my Richard the II strips and then Court Case Comix, followed by smaller comics. =) Thanks!

      Reply
  2. I’ve been away from my blog for many months… I’m going to have to have to dig around for that Shakespeare cheese post you mention. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

