RSS Feed

Thursday the 14th

Posted on

Get the joke? Because Friday the 13th– Thursday the 14th!

Hahahahhahahhahahhahahhaahha… yes I know it’s not funny. But the superstition that Friday the 13th is unluckly as 13 is the number of people at the last supper and it took place on Good Friday. But everyone knows that one. Here are some more superstitions– some are very silly! I have found all of these superstitions from this website.

Illustration for "The Black Cat" by ...

Illustration for “The Black Cat” by Aubrey Beardsley (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  • A loaf of bread should never been turned upside down after a piece has been sliced from it
  • Never take a broom with you when you move house
  • If the first butterfly you see in the year is white, you will have good luck
  • If a black cat walks towards you you will have good luck; if it walks away you will have bad luck
  •  An acorn in the window will keep lightning out
  • If a dog howls when someone is sick, it brings misfortune
  • A horseshoe in on the bedroom door keeps bad dreams away
  • Dropping an umbrella in the house means a murder will take place
  • If you dream of a lizard you have a secret enemy

    A horseshoe on a door is regarded as a protect...

    A horseshoe on a door is regarded as a protective talisman in some cultures. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 However, my mum knows a lot of Chinese superstitions like:
  • Do not point at the moon or your ear will be cut
  • The Chinese unlucky number is 4 as 4 in Chinese is pronounced like the word for death
  • Do not put chopsticks straight into your bowl as it looks like incense for the dead
  • You cannot give anyone a clock as the expression for giving a clock to someone is the same as paying your last respects to somebody who died in Chinese
  • If you lose a tooth in China you throw your bottom teeth on the roof and your upper teeth under your bed. Also, China have no Tooth Fairy. What a shame!
Chopsticks

Chopsticks (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 What other superstitions can you think of?

About epicduda

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

4 responses »

  1. I think your title Thursday the 14th is very funny! It made me laugh.

    Reply
  2. I’m a fan of Friday the 13th. I even favor #13. I like to think of myself as a little “left of center.” During my time, superstitions reigned, especially in Maui where I was born and raised.
    😉

    Reply
  3. When I got Married, my Wife Rachel brought 2 Black Cats into my home
    (Leo and Cole) they were brothers and could not be told apart except that Leo had a single white whisker. My boss at work told me in all seriousness that “Black Cats should not be in a house with babies as they’ll kill them by ‘sucking the life out of them’ ”
    They were sweet cats. They only tried to kill each other, on occasion, when lady cats were around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

