RSS Feed

Weekly Photo Challenge – Hands – Pelicans with a bit of manatee

Posted on

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands

These are pictures from Jurong Bird Park (except the manatees, which are in the zoo). The things I am throwing to the pelicans are fish and they’re very strange birds as in the wild when they see a big group of fish (or a shoal, for the exact term), the pelicans dive straight down into the water and gulp up a huge bunch of water (hopefully with some fish in), thanks to their pouch. Then, when they’re back on dry land, they open their beak a little bit to let the water drip out so there are only fish, who are then swallowed. If you’ve read my previous blog post, you will know that manatees are in that article.

Other residents of the park include cassowary, ostriches, eagles and a talking parrot. The funny thing is, when I went to the Bird Park many years ago, we saw EXACTLY the same show and EXACTLY the same parrot! He even sang Happy Birthday on that same occasion.

Related articles

About Ben Williams

I'm 16 years old. I like animals, lasagne, comic books, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fiction, film reviews, and quirks about Britain. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Hands: Don’t doze off « Janet's Craft

  2. Thanks for the link back to my WPC post! I look forward to following your blog.

    Reply
  3. I love your slideshow and information on the pelicans. Nice selection for the challenge. Thank you for the pingback.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Reply
  4. I like your description of pelicans. There were lots of interesting details.

    I remember the show with the parrot in Jurong Bird Park too. It was a bit repetitive and the format of the show seemed the same year after year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

