RSS Feed

Dungeons, Dragons and more dungeons

Posted on

I am a HUGE fan of roleplaying games, Dungeons and Dragons in paticular. If you have no idea what this is, it is a popular fantasy game where you play as an adventurer on adventures (sometimes in dungeons) and fight deadly monsters (sometimes dragons).

I play every Saturday as a Dungeon Master with my two friends, Joe and Ed. Last session they fought through a bunch of orcs and they faced a dark cleric. They eventually had to hire people run by me (NPCs).

I started playing when I was about 7. At that time my maths wasn’t that good and I didn’t know the rules. I used to just read the monsters and play with little figures of them. But then my dad started reading this webcomic called Order of the Stick and to understand the jokes I would need to have read the rules. It took me a while to get used to it but now I can understand 99.9 percent of it.

About epicduda

I'm 13 years old. I like animals, lasagne, video games, films, role-playing games and Doctor Who. I write cool stuff - Doctor Who, science fictions, film reviews, and Kings and Queens. I have a blue-tongued skink called Georgy and a cat called Billy.

7 responses »

  1. What an interesting post! Well done, Ben! You get me so excited about your games. Keep it up and tell me more!

    Reply
  2. Hi Ben. Where you understand 99.9% of it; I understand 00.01%. In a game we know the origin and purpose of rules; in life we so often know neither, yet we still obey them, eh?

    Reply
    • Thank you for leaving a comment. What do you really mean?

      Reply
      • Much of what we do, and what we think and feel, seems to be in compliance with rules which we feel that we cannot break. There are very clear and visibly-sourced rules, such as religious rules, or the rules embodied in the law, but there are also other rules, less obvious. These some to us through our dealings with the people around us. We don’t question these unwritten rules much, that’s all.

  3. Pingback: Half-assing the dungeon (Under the City State Part II) « Stuffed Crocodile

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

